h1

10 Movie Cliches Debunked with Maths

November 16, 2009

007bourneMovies aren’t real. There are, however, many Movie Clichés, that look real – 100s of them including

20. A man will show no pain while taking a ferocious beating but will wince when a woman tries to clean his wounds

9. If you are being chased through town you will usually take cover in a passing St Patrick’s Day Parade- at any time of the year.

Some Movie Clichés look ridiculous when you stop to think about them. Others can be debunked using simple maths.

So mathspigs, hold on to the front bonnet (hood in the US) of the baddies escape vehicle we’re going on a hair-raising maths ride.


2 comments

  1. Hi, just stumbled on your blog. And I find this truly amazing!!! (I’m teaching math also hahaha:)I’ve been trying to find connections between films and math for quite some time now and I’m just so glad I saw this.

    I was wondering if the movies transporter could also be debunked with all that car chases and scene fights.

    thanks. this will help a lot, make math more interesting for my students especially the candles:)


    • Hi Peaches,
      Thanks for your comments. All ideas welcome. Cheers Mathspig



Leave a comment