h1

3.The Hunger Games Algorithm

November 25, 2015

The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins TEXT

If Peeta and I were both to die, or they thought we were….My fingers fumble with the pouch on my belt, freeing it. Peeta sees it and his hand clamps on my wrist. “No, I won’t let you.” “Trust me,” I whisper. He holds my gaze for a long moment then lets go. I loosen the top of the pouch and pour a few spoonfuls of berries into his palm. Then I fill my own. “On the count of three?” Peeta leans down and kisses me once, very gently. “The count of three,” he says. We stand, our backs pressed together, our empty hands locked tight. “Hold them out. I want everyone to see,” he says. I spread out my fingers, and the dark berries glisten in the sun. I give Peeta’s hand one last squeeze as a signal, as a good-bye, and we begin counting. “One.” Maybe I’m wrong. “Two.” Maybe they don’t care if we both die. “Three!” It’s too late to change my mind. I lift my hand to my mouth taking one last look at the world. The berries have just passed my lips when the trumpets begin to blare. The frantic voice of Claudius Templesmith shouts above them. “Stop! Stop! Ladies and gentlemen, I am pleased to present the victors of the 74th Hunger Games, Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark! I give you – the tributes of District 12!”

………………………………………………………

Readability Hunger Games: Method 1

The best way to count words and sentences is to cut and paste the text into a document and break the text up into sentences. This is a good exercise for students of all middle school students. You will find the text breakdown and syllable count here Hunger Games Readability

Word Count =

Sentence Count =

Syllable count =

Note: This last count will send you crazy. I kept getting different counts. Go with the middle count. ie. How many syllables in GIVE? G-ive. 2 syllables?

7. Hunger Games REadability Method 1

……………………………………………………………….

Readability Hunger Games: Method 2

Word Count =

Sentence Count =

Syllable count =

You will still have to do a sentence count, but you can cut and past the text into the following:

Word Counter

and

Syllable Counter

Results:

Word count = 234

Syllable count = 288

Sentence count = 26

8. Hunger Games Readability Method 2

……………………………………………………..

Readability Hunger Games: Method 3

Simply cut and paste the text into here or here.

9 Hunger Games readaility Method 3

 

Leave a Reply

